3 December: Addressing public health and disability issues affecting youth in South Sulawesi within a COVID-19 context

 

Improved health in individuals and across a community is a key factor in inclusive economic growth and development. South Sulawesi is the ninth-largest provincial economy in Indonesia and has growth rates higher than the national average, but high rates of disability and poor mental health mean that this development is likely to be unequal, leaving the most vulnerable behind. The COVID-19 pandemic has likely compounded this, as South Sulawesi is one of the worst hit provinces outside Java.

Register for ‘Addressing public health and disability issues affecting youth in South Sulawesi within a COVID-19 context’ here

On Day 4, the final day of the Summit, the AIC welcomes experts, including members of PAIR’s Research Advisory Panel, to discuss issues of health and wellbeing, with a particular focus on youth, in South Sulawesi. Following this, the AIC will host a panel discussion featuring PAIR researchers, who will present their findings to date and their plans for the next stage of their research. They will ultimately provide advice to the government on how to improve health outcomes for young people especially women, and people with disability and people with poor mental health in South Sulawesi.

Indonesian and Australian Government representatives will deliver opening and closing remarks.

Schedule

  • Young People Health & Wellbeing: 1.00 pm – 1.50 pm AEDT (9.00 am – 9.50 am WIB)
  • Break: 1.50 pm – 2.00 pm AEDT (9.50 am – 10.00 am WIB)
  • Improving young people’s health and wellbeing in South Sulawesi: research findings to date and future plans: 2.00 pm – 2.55 pm AEDT (10.00 am – 10.55 am WIB)
  • Closing remarks: 2.55 pm – 3.00 pm AEDT (10.55 am – 11.00 am WIB)

Register for ‘Addressing public health and disability issues affecting youth in South Sulawesi within a COVID-19 context’ here

Background reading

Speakers

Dr Elan Satriawan

Chief of Policy
Working Group
TNP2K

Erna Witoelar

Former UN Special Ambassador
for MDGs in the Asia Pacific

Dr Ishak Salim

Co-Founder
Indonesian Diffabel Movement
for Equality

Prof Budu

SulSel Development
Acceleration Team
TGUPP

Dr Hasnawati Saleh

PAIR Research
Coordinator, AIC

Professor Anu Rammohan

AIC Senior Fellow
The University of
Western Australia

Dr Sudirman Nasir

AIC Senior Fellow
Universitas Hasanuddin

Dr Christrijogo Sumartono

AIC Senior Fellow
Universitas Airlangga

Helen Brown

Head, Comms & Outreach
AIC

His Excellency Gary Quinlan AO

Australian Ambassador
to Indonesia,
Australia Embassy Jakarta